Abbots and Abbesses of Redwall

If there is an empty row between names it means there were probably other abbots or abbesses in between the known characters.  These gaps may be filled in by future novels.  If there is no empty row between names it means the exact order of sucession is known with no time gaps in between.

Name Species Book(s) in which he/she appeared
If the character appeared in a book but was not abbot or abbess at the time, or was only promoted at the very end of the book, the title is listed in grey.
Abbess Germaine Mouse Mossflower, The Legend of Luke
? -- --
Abbess Meriam Mouse Outcast of Redwall
Abbess Bryony Mouse Outcast of Redwall
? -- --
Abbot Bernard Mouse Mariel of Redwall
Abbot Saxtus Mouse Mariel of Redwall, The Bellmaker
Abbess Vale Mouse Salamandastron
? -- --
Abbot Saxus ? none (sometime prior to Cedric and Mortimer)
? -- --
Abbot Cedric ? none
Abbot Mortimer Mouse Redwall
Abbot Mordalfus Mouse Redwall, Mattimeo
Abbot Durral Mouse The Pearls of Lutra
Abbess Tansy Hedgehog The Pearls of Lutra, The Long Patrol
Abbot Arven Squirrel The Pearls of Lutra, The Long Patrol, Marlfox
Abbess Songbreeze Squirrel Marlfox
Abbess Mhera Otter Taggerung
? --
Abbot Apodemus Mouse Triss
? --
Abbot Carrul Mouse Loamhedge
Abbess Fenna Squirrel Loamhedge