Redwall Chronology

It is highly recommended that you read the books in the order they were published!

That way you avoid having some fun surprises spoiled.
You should definitely read Mossflower before The Long Patrol and Lord Brocktree, Salamandastron before Marlfox, Redwall before Taggerung and Mattimeo, and Mariel of Redwall before The Bellmaker.  In other words, you really are best off reading them in the publication order.

For anyone who is interested, I, Snowfur, read them in the publication order, except Redwall and Mossflower were flipped around, so Mossflower was the first book in the series I read.  Of course, at that time, Mattimeo was brand-new!  I feel so old...


The publication order of the Redwall books


The chronological order of events in the Redwall books